Birds Of A Feather/The Early Years '68-'70*
Wayside/Smash WSS 33-001 (Out Of Print) 1970
*Earth Records NR3478 (private pressing) (Out Of Print)

  1. Tennessee Bird Walk (2:52)
  2. Big Black Bird (Spirit Of My Love) (2:43)
  3. Chapel Hill (2:39)
  4. The Dum Song (2:25)
  5. Bethlehem Steel (2:34)
  6. Poor Jody (2:36)
  7. Humphrey The Camel (3:04)
  8. Yellow Bellied Sapsucker (2:36)
  9. Changin' Times (3:23)
  10. The Clock Of St. James (2:07)
  11. You've Got Your Troubles (I've Got Mine) (2:40)
  12. With Pen In Hand (2:34)
All songs written by Jack Blanchard, pub. by Jack Blanchard Songs (BMI) except: 11: written by Roger Greenaway & Roger Cook, pub. by Mills Music (ASCAP); and 12: written by Bobby Goldsboro, pub. by Detail Music (BMI). Recorded at Woodland Studios, Nashville, April and June, 1969. Produced by Little Richie Johnson. Billy Sanford - el.guitar Bobby Thompson - guitar/banjo Lloyd Green, Weldon Myrick - steel Henry Strzelecki - bass Larry Londin - drums Hargus Pig Robbins - piano Buddy Spicher, Johnny Gimble - fiddle Charlie McCoy - harmonica The Nashville Edition - backup singers Original liner notes: THIS ALBUM CONTAINS: Bald headed birds and dirty underwear, spirits flying beyond time, homesick steel workers, lost souls, a guest of honor crying at his own funeral, old folks, autumn days, a clock witnessing a murder, weeds, cobwebs, yellow bellied sap suckers, and other deep stuff we have gathered from first-hand observation of life and carefully taken down in brown crayon. We've been right here in this dream all along, waiting for you. Now that you've found us, think of all the fun we can have before we wake up! I guess what we mean to say is -- thanks for finding us. MISTY & JACK This first LP contains the early Wayside singles "Big Black Bird [Spirit Of My Love]" and "Bethlehem Steel" - but not their flip sides, "The Autumn Song [On A Yellow Day] {no matter what the liner notes will tell you!} and "No Sign Of Love" - as well as "Tennessee Birdwalk," "Humphrey The Camel" and "You've Got Your Troubles (I've Got Mine)". Wayside went out of business shortly afterward, meaning Jack and Misty never got royalties for this effort; so they took the master tapes and had their own limited edition LP pressed up on the Earth label ("The Early Years '68-'70") which they sold at personal appearances.

As of this writing, "With Pen In Hand" and "No Sign Of Love" still remain unreissued.

Birds Of A Feather Two Side Of Jack & Misty
Sweet Memories
Back In Harmony Back From The Dead Vol. 2
A Little Out Of Sync Masters Of The Keyboards Jack And Misty Are CRAZY!!! Beginnings... Life And Death (and almost everything else).
Two Sides... One More Time! Come Early Morning Weird Scenes Inside The BirdhouseNashville Sputnik - The Deep South Outer Space Productions of Jack Blanchard & Misty Morgan 1956-2004


Sign the Guestbook View the Guestbook

2008 all rights reserved.